For practical information about the certification process, please contact a Certification Authority.

The Safety Culture Ladder Certification Scheme contains requirements (which must be met by a company), criteria (against which the standard is being tested), auditor directives (what is being reviewed) and scores (how will meeting the criteria be valued).

The Safety Culture Ladder divides safety awareness and safety behaviour over 5 steps. The more responsibility about, reflection on and investment in safety, the higher the score. The score is determined on the basis of 18 company characteristics.

Download Safety Culture Ladder Certification Scheme 4.0

Safety Culture Ladder Manual

The Manual Safety Culture Ladder is the document that provides the framework for certification on the safety culture ladder. It contains all necessary formal information about the certification process.

Download Safety Culture Ladder Manual 3.1

Interpretation Documents

Interpretation step 5 (Statement)

Additional decisions

2016-04 Decision Additions to the Safety Culture Ladder (SCL) Manual for  the pilot

2016-03 Decision More detailed specification of units to be certified

2017-01 Decision Use of name and logo Safety Culture Ladder

2018-13 Decision – Unannounced work visits


Your contact

Team Safety Culture Ladder

+31(0)15 2 690 180